The Museum's History

Johannes Larsen was born in 1867 in Kerteminde, son of merchant I.A.Larsen and Wilhelmine Christine (Bless) Larsen. Johannes Larsen was the oldest of 6 children and soon showed his artistic talent. He was trained at Zahrtmann's Art School in Copenhagen. In 1898 he married the artist Alhed Warberg (1872-1927) and they had two sons, Andreas (Puf) (1899-1953) and Johan (Lysse) (1901-1991).

In 1901, Johannes and Alhed Larsen moved into their new house on Mill Hill (Møllebakken) in Kerteminde; their home quickly became a gathering place for many artists and authors. Over time the buildings were expanded and added to, adapting to changing needs.

At Zahrtmann's Art School, Johannes Larsen met an artist from Faaborg, Fritz Syberg (1862-1939) who later married Anna (Hansen) Syberg (1870-1914), the sister of another classmate, Peter Hansen (1868-1928). Anna and Fritz moved to Kerteminde in 1902, to the farm Pilegården, about 1 km. from Møllebakken. This remained their home for the rest of their lives, and their 7 children grew up there. Johannes Larsen, Fritz Syberg and Peter Hansen were later known as the main figures in the group of Funish Painters.

Johannes Larsen's sister, Christine Larsen (1876-1960) was a painter and ceramicist. She married the painter Sigurd Swane (1879-1973) in 1910, and their son Lars Swane (1913-2002) became an artist as well. Christine and Sigurd were divorced in 1920 and Sigurd remarried, with artist Agnete (Rechendorff). They had three children, Hanne, Henrik and Gerda. Christine remained unmarried.

Johannes Larsen was an active artist and illustrator until his death in 1961. His grandson, Jeppe Andreas Larsen, (1935-1984) Puf's son, lived at Møllebakken with his family after his grandfather's death. Jeppe Larsen was a talented artist and several of his works are shown in our exhibition. In 1984, his family moved from Møllebakken so the place could become a museum. The Johannes Larsen Museum opened in 1986 and is now part of The Museums of Eastern Funen.



John Olsen 80 years old
March 23, 2018 and the year out
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Easter for kids, with eggs on top!
March 27 and 28, 10 AM to 3 PM
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Grete Jensen – the Funen painters’ unknown potter
June 23 - August 26, 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

GREEN – Christine Swane, the Modernist
May 19 - Sept. 9, 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Welcome to the green world of Christine Swane


The Coffee House will be temporarily closed
6. February 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

The Coffee House at the Johannes Larsen Museum is closing on Feb.1, 2018 due to rebuilding and expansion.

The Ladby Tapestry will be extended
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

The beautiful Ladby Tapestry will be on display at the museum for another two months.

Read the private letters and diaries of the Funen painters
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Thousands of private letters to and from the Funen painters and their circle are now available to the public.

The Coffee House will be expanded and restored
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Now museum visitors can look forward to an even better experience in this historical setting.