Møllebakken (Mill Hill) anno 1901

13. April 2015 | Johannes Larsen Museum

Johannes Larsen was not the only artist to capture the view from Møllebakken in Kerteminde overlooking the North Beach and the cliff. Christine Swane and Henry Lørup painted the motif, and so did artist Peter Tom-Petersen (1861-1926). The museum has just acquired Tom-Petersen’s painting from 1901 showing the path down Møllebakken towards Kerteminde Bay.

1901 was the year that Johannes and Alhed Larsen built their house on Møllebakken (Mill Hill), so it’s easy to imagine the construction site behind or to the left of the painter. On the way down the hill, one of Kerteminde’s windmills stretches its wings - namely, the Church Mill. Only the base of the mill remains today, as a private home. The Swan Mill, still standing on Mill Hill, and part of the Johannes Larsen Museum today, was somewhere behind the painter that day in 1901. The white house at the bottom of the hill is called Petersminde (In Memory of Peter), and out on the bay, a ship can be seen heading for port in Kerteminde. It could have been one of Johannes Larsen’s father’s, I.A. Larsen’s, merchant ships, but that is just a guess and can’t be documented.

The painting is of course of interest for the museum because it shows Møllebakken and its surroundings in a different perspective than Johannes Larsen’s, and before the Larsens’ home and combined studio were completed in 1901 and 1914-16 respectively. The museum has two other paintings by Tom-Petersen of Kerteminde from 1901, when the artist stayed in the town.

Read also: After Lunch - an everyday image from Italy


John Olsen 80 years old
March 23, 2018 and the year out
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Easter for kids, with eggs on top!
March 27 and 28, 10 AM to 3 PM
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Grete Jensen – the Funen painters’ unknown potter
June 23 - August 26, 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

GREEN – Christine Swane, the Modernist
May 19 - Sept. 9, 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Welcome to the green world of Christine Swane


The Coffee House will be temporarily closed
6. February 2018
The Johannes Larsen Museum

The Coffee House at the Johannes Larsen Museum is closing on Feb.1, 2018 due to rebuilding and expansion.

The Ladby Tapestry will be extended
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

The beautiful Ladby Tapestry will be on display at the museum for another two months.

Read the private letters and diaries of the Funen painters
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Thousands of private letters to and from the Funen painters and their circle are now available to the public.

The Coffee House will be expanded and restored
5. December 2017
The Johannes Larsen Museum

Now museum visitors can look forward to an even better experience in this historical setting.